Naturally Curious

I used to be a scientist
Curious about the world
Learning new things
taking them apart
Only to bring them back together again
one day, my 
Catholic father
starts Yelling at me
Screaming at me
Eviscerating me
Asking me
“WHY DO YOU KEEP ON BREAKING THINGS!?”
pens, toys, foam rubber swords
all lambs to the slaughter
His thundering voice
my brother’s seething eyes
my mother’s silence
All have killed
my love for science
Now, i am embarking on a new path
The college years are near me
and my father wonders
why I’d prefer to write 
poetry
Leave a Reply

